Ellen Scheible: Honors Outstanding Faculty Award Winner

We would like to congratulate Dr. Ellen Scheible for receiving the Honors Outstanding Faculty Award! Dr. Scheible is one of our amazing English faculty here at BSU. She will be recognized at the Honors Spring Dinner coming up next  Tuesday, April 22, 2014, 5:30pm-7:30pm in the RCC Ballroom. Read below to get know Dr. Scheible a little better,

How does it feel to be selected for the Outstanding Faculty Award?

I feel very appreciated and humbled by the award. I am especially grateful that the students were involved in the process of selection. It makes it that much more special.

What do you like most about teaching Honors courses?

I like the challenging atmosphere of having Honors students in the classroom because they always keep discussion moving at a rapid pace. I really like how funny and charismatic most Honors students are.

What type of research projects do you like to mentor?

I mentor projects on Irish studies, British modernism, gender and sexuality and gothic literature.

What are some of your hobbies?

I like to read contemporary Irish fiction on my kindle. I just started working out with a trainer and really like it. I also cook a lot because my parents own a restaurant. My specialty is crab cakes.

What are some of your research interest?

I’m currently researching the way Irish nation post 1922 is mapped onto the female body in 20th century Irish fiction.

What is your favorite food?

Cheese but particularly creamy cheeses, European cheeses like Manchego and little foods like tapas.

What is your favorite ice-cream flavor?

If it’s gelato coconut, if it’s Milkshakes from McDonalds strawberry, but regular ice-cream mint chocolate chip and Ben and Jerry’s Cherry Garcia.

Thank you to Dr. Scheible for taking her time to speak with us, and for her hard work and dedication towards the BSU community!

-C.A

Leave a Reply

